Our Staff & Board

Our staff and board members work hard to provide opportunities for entertainment and community arts in McKenzie County.


Jessie Veeder Scofield


Jessie is a professional singer/songwriter, writer and 4th generation rancher on her family’s homestead. She is a founding member of the LAF, serving as its first president before transiting into the director role. She works with Tourism and Economic Development through her role as Director.

Morgan Wagner

Art Teacher

Morgan is a designer, artist, and illustrator with a passion for creating something bigger than the sum of its parts. She teaches adult and children’s community art classes and works with the Kid Stop Program teaching art.


Jessica Newman

Education, Outreach and Exhibit Coordinator

Miss Jess has a B.A. in Art History and Studio Art from the University of Mary Washington and is a passionate artist and art educator who comes to us with over nine years of education program development and instruction. She develops community art programs, teaches all ages and helps us find new ways to serve McKenzie County in the arts. Her office and studio space is in the Pioneer Museum and works with the students and public there, at the Rough Rider Center and beyond.


Maria Borkowski


Maria is a transplant from the mountains for Colorado and is currently rooted in the badlands of North Dakota. She uses photography as meditation, a way to focus and navigate in the strange world we’ve found ourselves in. Maria’s artistry showcases her wanderlust and quest for new adventures even in familiar places. She seeks to reconnect her audience to the wonder of the world around them in unexpected ways.

Daniel Stenberg


Daniel serves as economic development coordinator for McKenzie County. In partnership with Prairie Public Television, he served as director and producer of a historical documentary entitled 6 BROTHERS, which documented the life on his grandfather’s family during the Great Depression and World War II years. He serves on boards for the State Historical Society of ND, ND Rural Development Council, McKenzie County Community Foundation the Pioneer Museum of McKenzie County and the Farmer’s Market director.

Deb Wisness

Board Member

Deb has been actively involved in Watford City since she moved here 42 yrs ago. Whether it’s First Lutheran Church, the local Eagles Auxiliary, District #1 Cattlewomen, MCHS  Benefit Fund fundraisers or involvement with her children in school activities, you could count on Deb to step in where needed. She is retired from her last job as McKenzie County Tax Director and is enjoying it. I thoroughly enjoy bringing the arts to McKenzie County.

Jan Dodge

Vice President

Jan is retired from her position as the McKenzie County Tourism Director. She and her husband own and operate a grain farm and cattle ranch. Jan is a director of the Pioneer Museum of McKenzie County and a founding board member of LAF. Jan serves on multiple boards, including McKenzie County Healthcare Board, Theodore Roosevelt Nature and History Association and McKenzie County Historical Society

Brooke Braunbger

Board Member

Brooke is a young newlywed who moved from Arizona to Watford City two years ago. She is taking advantage of all the new experiences that come with the small town living with having multiple jobs and volunteering when possible. She has her Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial and Organizational Psychology from Arizona State University and currently works with the Long X Arts Foundation as an administrator and art teacher.

Anna Schwartz

Board Member

Anna has been the Watford City High School Choral director for the last 10 years and loves sharing the joy of music with her students. She has enjoyed being a member of the Long X Arts Foundation for three years.

Lindsay Veeder

Board Member

Lindsay manages Door 204 Coffeeshop, where they specialize in coffee, mail service and displaying and selling local art. She is a former ballet teacher who graduated with a degree in photography from Evergreen College.

Concert Series Committee

Sue Best

Concert Series Committee

Sue has always felt that community involvement is an important part of her life. Sue served on an economic development board for the community and two terms on the school board. She was a substitute teacher and superintendent of her Sunday school program for over 10 years. She graduated from the UND with with a BA in mathematics.

Sonja Prestangen

Concert Series Committee

Sonja was born and raised in McKenzie County and raised her four grown sons here with her husband. She’s now  retired after years of being employed in various capacities in the community, namely MDU, as District Cashier;  GSH, serving in the Activities and the Social Services Depts; and lastly as a business owner of Simple Pleasures, a gift and book store in Watford City.

Vonne Tarnavsky

Concert Series Committee

Erica Johnsrud

Concert Series Committee

Erica returned to McKenzie County just over 7 years ago to be closer to family. Erica currently serves as the McKenzie County Auditor/Treasurer. She and her husband Chas enjoy spending time at the lake, traveling, attending sporting events, performing arts events, and chasing around 5 active nieces and nephews.

Ann Johnsrud

Concert Series Committee

Ann is a lifetime McKenzie county resident married to Jeff Johnsrud.  Ann retired as the McKenzie County Recorder after 33 years.  She has three children Justin (Nikki), Erica (Chas) and Bret (Lacey) and five grandchildren Gracie, Judd, Carter, Courtney and Callie.